Important Library Links
- eJournals by Title (SFX)
Search by title for journals in electronic format. - ILLiad
Request journal articles not available in any format at Lovejoy Library. Request books not available in Lovejoy Library or via I-Share. - RefWorks
Create lists of citations automatically in the citation style of your choice, e.g. APA, MLA,Turabian, etc.
Quick Reminders
- Library Instruction How Do I ...?
Find quick answers to Library policies,procedures and services - Atomic Learning Online tutorials for Blackboard, Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Access, Excel, PowerPoint, Web. 2.0, Moodle and more. For Mac and PC.
- Lovejoy Library - Library Instruction Program - Online Tutorials Flash movie tutorials covering basic library information
Web Sites
Recommended reading lists from:
- YALSA
Award winning books for young adults - ALAN Online Official site of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents- Includes Book Reviews and ALAN Review archives
Special Aids
- KnowledgeNotes

Guides to literary texts, offering in-depth analysis of 230 titles including classic works from William Shakespeare and modern works from Maya Angelou
Topical articles
Find Books
Search by TITLE or AUTHOR
Search by SUBJECT:
Teenagers -- Books and Reading
Young Adult Literature -- Study and Teaching (Secondary
Young Adults - Books and reading
with the subheading- Juvenile Fiction
For example:
Death - Juvenile Fiction; Illinois - Juvenile Fiction; Dogs - Juvenile Fiction
- SIUE Catalog
Lovejoy Library Catalog - I-Share Shared catalog for 76 Illinois academic libraries, including Lovejoy Library
- WorldCat
Books and materials in libraries worldwide
Examples from the Circulating Collection
- Adolescent Literature as a Complement to the Classics
Call Number: PS 59 .A34 1993 - From Hinton to Hamlet: Building Bridges between Young Adult Literature and the Classics
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 H47 2005 - Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings: A Casebook
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z794 1999 - Multicultural Voices in Contemporary Literature: A Resource for Teachers. 2nd ed.
Call Number: PS 153 .M56 D38 1999 - Radical Children's Literature: Future Visions and Aesthetic Transformations in Juvenile Fiction
Call Number: PN 1009.5 .P64 R49 2007
Selected Reference Resources in Lovejoy Library
- Best Books for Young Adults. Third Ed.
Call Number: REF Z 1037 .C34 2007 - The Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature
Call Number: REF PN 1008.5 .C67 2005 - Dictionary of American Young Adult Fiction, 1997 - 2001: Books of Recognized Merit
Call Number: REF PS 374 .H45 2004 - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
ebook format - The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction
Call Number: REF Z711.5 .S27 2001 - Senior High Core Collection
Call Number: REF Z 1039 .H54 S46 - Thematic Guide to Young Adult Literature
Call Number: REF PS 374 .Y57 T78 2006 - The Young Adult Reader's Advisor
Call Number: REF PN 1009 .A1 Y674 1992 - The Young Reader's Companion
Call Number: REF PN 1008.5 .C373 1993
Author Biographies
- Contemporary Authors
Call Number: REF Z1224 .C6 - Something About the Author
Call Number: REF PN 451.36 .S6
"Facts and Pictures about Authors and Illustrators of Books for Young People" - St. James Guide to Young Adult Writers
Call Number: REF Z 1232 .T9 1994 - Writers for Young Adults
Call Number: REf PS 490.W75 1997 - Writers of Multicultural Fiction for Young Adults: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook
Call Number: REF PS 374 .Y57 W75 1996
Electronic Reference Sources
- CREDO Reference
Electronic reference books in all subjects - Gale Virtual Reference Collection Electronic reference resources in
Business, education, literature, medicine, religion, science, social sciences, and technology - Literature Criticism Online
Centuries of scholarly and popular commentary on authors and their works from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers - Literature Online Fully-searchable library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 208 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Naxos Spoken Word Library Classic novels, plays and poetry in the literary arts, humanities and education
More than 350 works by 100 authors, playwrights and poets read by professional actors - Poets On Screen 840 filmed readings by poets of classic and contemporary poems
- Something About The Author Online -- Basic Search Something About the Author series examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.
Your Librarian |
Julie HansenJournal Resources
- Academic Search Premier search by TITLE and/or AUTHOR of the book
search SUBJECTS - Young Adult Literature OR Young Adult Fiction - ERIC
search by TITLE and/or AUTHOR;
SUBJECT - Adolescent Literature
Use Descriptors "Units of Study" or "Class Activities" or "Lesson Plans" - Criticism and Reference Full text of 240+ literature journals
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait