This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Information Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Information Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014 URL: http://siue.libguides.com/content.php?pid=163309 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Important Library Links

Important Reference Databases

  • ENGnetBASE
    Database of over 2,300 full-text (pdf) e-Books in engineering and technolog, including many basic engineering handbooks. Entire collection cross-searchable by topic.
  • CREDO Reference
    Cross-disciplinary database of some 165+ electronic reference books. For technology, click on "Find a Book," and then scan to "Technology."
  • Safari Books Online
    A collection of cross-searchable e-Books on information technology, including common programming languages.
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Engineering Library Resources Page.

The different tabs and links will guide you to different resources and guides to assist you in doing research in the various parts of your engineering school curriculum.

What's New?

Research Introduction and Help

Find Engineering Articles

  • Compendex
    Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research--the most fundamental index to engineering journal and conference literature.
  • Scopus
    SIUE's main index for science journal articles, but also covers engineering. Includes cited references back to 1996. The world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Comprehensive index to journal literature of all disciplines.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete
    Premier business article database for searching managerial aspects of engineering.
 

Useful Background References

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology. 3rd ed. - Meyers, Robert A., ed.
Call Number: Ref. Q123 .E497 2002, vols. 1-17
Publication Date: 2002
Excellent Academic Press background reference on many topics in science & technology.

Cover Art
The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition - Richard C. Dorf (Editor)
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9781420039870
Publication Date: 2004-06-29
First published in 1995, The Engineering Handbook quickly became the definitive engineering reference. Although it remains a bestseller, the many advances realized in traditional engineering fields along with the emergence and rapid growth of fields such as biomedical engineering, computer engineering, and nanotechnology mean that the time has come to bring this standard-setting reference up to date. New in the Second Edition 19 completely new chapters addressing important topics in bioinstrumentation, control systems, nanotechnology, image and signal processing, electronics, environmental systems, structural systems 131 chapters fully revised and updated Expanded lists of engineering associations and societies The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices. Whether you work in industry, government, or academia, this is simply the best, most useful engineering reference you can have in your personal, office, or institutional library.

Cover Art
Essential Communication Strategies - Herbert Hirsch
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 0471273171
Publication Date: 2002-12-16
Learn the tricks–of–the–trade of becoming a great technical communicator <p>Remember when you were an undergraduate and freshman composition seemed so irrelevant to your life? After all, you were going to conquer the world with technological know–how. Your spellcheck software would handle the details. Now that you′re a professional – pitching an idea, vying for a contract or grant, or presenting at a meeting – getting your point across effectively suddenly seems pretty essential for success, doesn′t it?</p> <p>Fear not. This light–hearted text, brimming with proven techniques, good advice, and real–world examples that you can easily apply to your own case, will turn you into an adept communicator. Written expressly for technologists, this is a simple, concise, and practical guide to the communication dynamics of writing, presentation delivery, and meeting interaction.</p> <p>Herbert Hirsch, in–demand consultant who developed these techniques for his own prolific engineering career, teaches you how to use "scripting" to plan for communication events. More than a mere outline or storyboard, scripting is a powerful technique that assists you in getting the right structure and content, in the proper order.</p> <p>Using scripting, you will master the fundamental principles of communicating:</p> <ul> <li>How to grab the reader′s or audience′s attention from the start</li> <li>How to maintain the connection while proceeding smoothly from topic to topic</li> <li>How to provide the substantiation for the points you made</li> <li>How to communicate with people from other groups, such as marketers, investors, users, and others</li> <li>How to overcome such obstacles as fear, boredom, and aversion to your material</li> </ul> Distilling the art of communication to its essence, <i>Essential Communication Strategies</i> empowers you to communicate with confidence and authority in every situation, to every audience.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. 10th ed.
Call Number: Q121 .M3 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Standard background reference on topics in science and technology. Excellent, solid introductory articles.

Technical Communication. 7th ed. - Markel, Michael H.
Call Number: T11 .M346 2004 (Library Reserve Desk)
Publication Date: 2004

Using the Engineering Literature. 2nd ed. [electronic resource] - Osif, Bonnie A., ed.
Call Number: Online Resource T10.7 .U85 2012
Publication Date: 2012

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Park
Contact Info
Lovejoy Library
Room 2105
618.650.2632
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip