This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information Sources  

Guide to finding, using, and citing government information at the federal, state, and local levels
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://siue.libguides.com/gov_info Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Depository Library

FDLP logo

U.S. Documents

Lovejoy Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by Public Law (Title 44 United States Code).

Lovejoy Library has been a selective depository in the Federal Depository Library Program for U.S. government documents since 1965. The Library selects approximately 60% of the tangible and electronic items available through the Federal Depository Library Program. The collection is developed to support the curricular and information needs of the University's students, faculty and staff as well as the community we serve, the 19th Congressional District of Illinois. The Library's current collection of Federal documents totals over 500,000 items in all formats, paper, microform, tangible electronic, and Internet.

Illinois Documents

Lovejoy Library is also a depository in the Illinois Documents Depository Program.

 

Finding U.S. government publications in Lovejoy Library...

... is a 2- or 3-step process:

  1. Selected tangible documents and documents available on the Internet are cataloged and will appear when searching Lovejoy Library's catalog. However, not all of our U.S. documents are in our catalog.
  2. If you have a SuDocs (Superintendent of Documents) call number, you can try to find it on the shelves in the Documents Collection (3rd floor). The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is a searchable catalog of documents dating from July 1976 to the present that can be used to find a SuDocs number.
  3. If you do not have a SuDocs call number or can't find the document on the shelves, please contact us for assistance. We would be glad to help you find the document in one of our collections, online, or at another library. Alternatively, you can use one of the databases or publications in this guide to try to find a publication of interest.
 

Finding Illinois government publications in Lovejoy Library...

... is a 2- or 3-step process:

  1. Check our catalog.
  2. We also have an partly uncataloged collection in the Illinois Documents collection, housed in filing cabinets on the 2nd floor on the east side of the lightwell in Lovejoy Library. This collection is filed by agency.
  3. If you cannot find what you need, please contact us for assistance. We would be glad to help you find the document in one of our collections, online, or at another library. Alternatively, you can use one of the databases or publications in this guide to try to find a publication of interest.

Director of Research Commons & Outreach Services

Profile Image
Lydia Jackson
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
1st FL, Room 1053
(618) 650-2604
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip